New Year and New Possibilities

For me, 2013 was a difficult year and more than anyone else, I’m ready for a new one. This year, I am approaching the always-unrealistic New Year’s Resolutions in a different way – with a glass of wine. Instead of the usual restrictions and goals on my resolution list, I gathered a few quotes (via Pinterest) to help me feel inspired and renewed for 2014.My kind of resolutions from the always brilliant Neil Gaiman1. Be happy. Carpe diem always. That’s simple. what will you choose?

2. Run and Exercise. Oh you’ve been on your bum in front of the tv for half of the day? Oh you’re bored? Yeah, you’re a quarter of a century old, that body isn’t going to stay the same forever.

Though the part saying stop usually wins lol

3. Create. If 2013 taught me anything, it was that creating is my outlet. I am going to continue to perfect my calligraphy and hand-lettering. And I am going to work on Project Life again this year – this time from the beginning ’til the end. Project Life keeps me inspired and appreciative of all the little moments that happen.

The Designer Says-2-Design Crush

4. Cook. I might be kidding myself here. This might be the only unrealistic thing on this list so far.

5. Watch what you eat. Ok, second unrealistic thing. I love burgers and fries and pasta and carbs. I’m not a just-a-salad-for-me girl. I don’t eat bird food. For the sake of feeling good and gaining confidence, I can make a few sacrifices. Seriously, I can see eye-rolling and disbelief that this is on my list, but weighing as little as I do is not all it’s cracked up to be. I eat anything and I think there are no consequences, but I know I can’t keep this unhealthy diet on forever; I have to start somewhere.

6. Increase the mileage on my car. Last year, my Baby went to San Francisco. I hope we get to explore the rest of California, or at least Los Angeles because where else is there?

7. Do not go out in public in sweats. Unless you’re actually working out like you said you would in #2, then it’s acceptable. Take an hour to get ready.

Dress to impress!!

8. Stay organized. Clean space means a clear mind.

9. Don’t be afraid. Say it. Do it. Make sure you don’t go to sleep at night regretting what you didn’t do that day.

10. If you’re invited, go. Budget willing, of course. Spend time with people who want to spend time with you.

11. Stay focused. With everything else going on, do not forget the things you want most out of life. Work hard to get what you want.

12. Stay in love. This one’s easy.

yup

I wanted to keep the list short and sweet, easier to remember and not so overwhelming.

Wishing you happiness and joy this new year. Cheers to you and yours.

3 thoughts on “New Year and New Possibilities

  1. Hi, I just found you on Instagram 🙂 Loved this post!
    Ill be back to check on your project! I started something similar.
    Happy New Year 😀

  2. Pingback: Vanessa Perry: Resolution #2 and #5

Leave a Reply

